nourishing salad in a jar

Rabbit food for the rabbit…

IMG_9835

Haha ok no serious I’m much (chocolate, peanut butter and date) addicted and now you can also call me a lill rabbit… But who wouldn’t crab these carrots first? hm yeah there’re one point!

IMG_9845

And when it comes to vegan food, I guess everybody thinks they would eat some boring salads and raw fruits. Well, let me clear up once and for all with this prejudice. To be honest it’s pretty rare when I eat only salad, but why? I really don’t know, but I absolutely love pizza, pancakes and especially bread with avocado on top oh and grilled corn. You can understand my love for baked meals. But lets go back to these salads ‚cause well there aren’t just salads ha no.

IMG_9838

Started the layering party with rice, to be precise basmati brown rice. Cooked for 30 minutes and half was eaten straight from the pot.

Why I say this in such details is because of a not so funny story of my sister. In the last two weeks she tried to cook rice four times and she failed, yes she failed with them. Haha oh I’m sorry my love (if you read this) but the three times in a row she let it burn and then the last time everything had worked the rice was moldy. (I have to say, it was probably old purchased rice)
Just because I’m such a good sister (well, and know her craving for something really bad!) I prepared these jars actually for her but the rice craving was to strong so lets say I prepared the small jar for her!

IMG_9846But rice isn’t the only grain I used to fuel me and my sister up. The next layer is  cooked buckwheat (oh my, have you ever tried? No, make it immediately!)

IMG_9850

It goes on with mushrooms, corn, tomatoes, peas, broccoli, paprika, avocado, red cabbage, arugula and inserted some carrots! 

If you’re an student like me, make this jar a day ahead and grab them (both of course) with you in school or uni and I can assure, you’ll be the star wherever you enjoy this.

Most preferably and not to forget drill two holes in the cover for the carrots!

 

Here’s the recipe:

150 grams brown rice
500 ml water
1/2 tsp salt

75 grams buckwheat
150 ml water
1/2 tsp sea salt

5-6 Mushrooms

45 grams Corn

5 Tomatoes

35 grams Peas

3 broccoli florets

1 /2 paprika

1/2 avocado

red cabbage

arugula

3  carrots

 

Direction:

 

  1. Rinse and drain rice.
  2. Then place in a saucepan, add water and salt cover with a lid and bring to boil. Lower the heat and cook gently for about 30 minutes or until tender and all the water has been absorbed.

 

  1. Rinse the buckwheat in a sieve with hot water very well.
  2. Bring the water to boil in a saucepan, then add the rinsed buckwheat.
  3. Let gently simmer on low heat for 6-10 minutes. Add sea salt.
  4. Remove from heat and let sit for another 6-10 minutes or until tender. Drain any excess water and let slightly cool.

 

  1. Place the divided mushrooms, corn, peas, broccoli florets, paprika and carrots on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes, until golden and with slightly crispy edges.

 

Assembling the salad:

Place the cooked rice, buckwheat, mushrooms, corn,tomatoes, peas, broccoli florets, paprika, avocado, the carrots in a jar and topped with red cabbage and fresh arugula.

 


Kommentar verfassen

