buckwheat citrus salad

Is it already summer?

image

Nope, sadly not. But oh what would I give for warm sunshine on my skin. So sun do you want an orange bowl too? I know you want, like everyone else.

And the reason why these bowls are so colorful? Hm, maybe its because I went for a really long walk with my dog through the forest and I caught a lot sunbeams. Like I lived half a year in a cave. Without sunlight. Am I the only person who has ever felt this? Guess not, and especially not after such an strange/cold winter  and quite a lot of school work.

image

But now stop the random talk and dive into these grapefruit bowls!
Are you ready?

 

Yep, I love buckwheat. I could eat it raw, savory, in baked rawnola or cookies. Its definitely my favorite „pseudo cereal“. All mixed with roasted corn, carrots, arugula, parsley, crushed hazelnuts and a oh so lemony and citrusy dressing.

And since I couldn’t find a few good quality blood oranges/ white oranges or lemons at my local supermarket, I can anyhow say they exist and can be found at Mehadrin

Also don’t forget to use the 5% code LP10220165 at the checkout, yees who would say no to discount codes? Right, nobody!

image

Ah I definitely have to pop a few more oranges just to smell them again..

 

What you need:

2-3 carrots
220 grams buckwheat
2 1/2 tsp oil
20 grams crushed hazelnuts
1 tsp cumin

1 glove garlic
2 oranges
2 lemons
salt, pepper
parsley, finely chopped

Direction:
  1. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. Toss chopped carrots with 1 tbsp of olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.
  3. Cut the oranges and lemons in half and pop them in the oven to roast alongside the carrots.
  4. To cook the buckwheat, add it and water  in a saucepan. Cook over a low heat for 5-8 minutes, or until all of the liquid have been absorbed.
  5. To make the dressing, remove the skin from the garlic and crush the clove to a paste. Scrape it into a small bowl. Add 1 tbsp of olive oil. Squeeze orange and lemon juice into your bowl. Taste and add a bit more orange or lemon juice. Mix well and add salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Now add your carrots, buckwheat, parsley, hazelnuts and dressing to a normal or hollowed orange skin bowl and stir to combine.
Kommentar verfassen

